Simon Cowell Reveals Alcohol Sparks His Creativity and Helps Him Devise TV Concepts

radio-times-zoom

Simon Cowell has told how he drinks alcohol to enter a ‘calm place’ and come up with his TV ideas.

Simon, said that ‘one or two in the morning’ helped spark his creativity.

In an interview with Radio Times Magazine to promote X Factor musical I Can’t Sing!, written by comic Harry Hill, Cowell said that he could not quit smoking.

‘Harry trained as a doctor, he doesn’t like my theory that although I smoke and drink I take supplements, so I’ll be all right,’ he told the Radio Times

‘If I tried to cut out cigarettes completely, I would have a real problem: too boring. It’s the same with drinking.’

But Simon added: ‘I’m pretty good at cutting back when I need to.’

He added: ‘I have this expression, ‘You never eat Indian food for breakfast’. I always think there is a time in your day when you can be creative.

‘For me, one or two in the morning, couple of vodka and limes, couple of cigarettes, I’m in a calm place: I can think. I always say, ‘One good idea a year can pay for your next ten years.’ And that’s all you need to do.’

simon-nigel

Simon, who was recently pictured topless while strolling alongside girlfriend Lauren Silverman and their baby boy, Eric, said that he was in good shape.

‘Yeah, not too shabby, eh?’ he told the magazine.

Simon joked that I Can’t Sing! would have to last longer than the Spice Girls stage show to be considered a success after Viva Forever! ran for seven months and was deemed a flop.

Asked what would count as a success, he joked: ‘Seven months and a day’, before adding: ‘I’m not au fait with the numbers.

From day one there was a cloud over that musical. The critics had a field day.’

He explained: “I hate musicals. But these were great songs and within five minutes I was in hysterics.

“There’s a contestant in a caravan with her grandfather who has an iron lung. I thought: ‘Good back story!’

“It was obviously written by someone who likes the show. We all get it in the neck, particularly me, but we didn’t want to make something pompous or earnest. It was a big piss-take of us but not in a cynical way.”

He added: ‘You’ve got to be confident in what you do, otherwise you’d be paralysed. I’ve always thought if I like something then other people will like it.’

Simon told the magazine: ‘It’s bloody risky, but so is making the TV show.

Every new season you go in with the highest hopes, and sometimes you get a bum year.

You wait for those numbers to come in, oh my God it’s stressful, and it’s a delicious thrill.’

More on the I Can’t Sing X Factor Musical and link to buy tickets here

Radio Times is on sale now.

Leave a Reply

