Amanda Holden: ‘The X Factor Needs Simon Cowell’

simon-amanda1

Talking to Emma Daly in The Radio Times this week, Amanda Holden says “I think he’ll come back,” and goes on to say “it makes a huge difference when Simon is on a judging panel”.

Simon Cowell is busy filming Britain’s Got Talent right now, but fellow BGT judge Amanda Holden admits the X Factor needs him too.

“I hate saying that,” she added. “But it kind of does.”

Amanda also spoke about this years Britain’s Got Talent auditions ‘There have already been “death defying acts” in this year’s auditions – and that they’re exactly what Simon is looking for.

“You know Simon always says he wants death? We’ve had an act where I just thought people were going to die and it was so thrilling,” Holden tells RadioTimes.com.

So far none of the acts have prompted Holden to press the brand new golden buzzer, which whips an act past the judges, past the next round of auditions and straight into the live semi-finals.

“The frightening thing is I keep thinking, ‘When is the best time to use it?’ because you think, it’s for an act that I would feel personally very passionate about. There have been a lot of acts where the four of us have agreed and you think, oh, but then it’s pointless, you’re going to waste it.

“But what I have said to Simon is, if one of the judges presses that buzzer and then that act goes on to win the show, do we get an immediate contract to come back the following year? Or in my case, that’s great, but I would prefer a holiday in the Maldives, or just to sit on his yacht in Barbados!”

But Holden says only one man could make her give up her spot on the panel.

“It’s my favourite job of the year. As long as they want me I’ll do it. I’m here and I’ve always said if Simon sacks me personally I’ll go, but if he gets someone else to ring me, I’m back.”

Source: Radio Times

Leave a Reply

