Sinitta Says She Is Going To Be Godmother To Simon Cowell’s Child

simon-sinitta3

Sinitta who is currently filming ‘The Jump’ in Austria spoke to The Telegraph about Simon becoming a father for the first time.

Sinitta spent the Christmas holiday with Simon and Lauren in Barbados, “It was great because it’s hard when there are huge changes and you are at a distance from each other,” she says. “But to see Simon and Lauren together, I’m just feeling this is going to bring us closer – I found it comforting and reassuring really. And it’s so nice to see Simon happy – not lost exactly, but happy and bewildered now he’s going to be a father. He’s got a few months to get used to that, because he hasn’t thought that way for 40 or 50 years.”

“Usually, with my children, he becomes the third child, but this time he was a bit of a disciplinarian – instead of handing out sweets when I’d just told them off, he was saying, ‘You must listen to Mummy’.”

She hasn’t offered advice, she says, but Simon has been “smiling nervously” while she has outlined the realities of late nights, early mornings and night feeds – as well as the fact that she plans payback: to be just as indulgent to his son as he has been to her children. “I think it’s a boy – they are calling it ‘Little Simon’. Mind you, knowing Simon, he probably saw the umbilical cord [on the scan] and thought it was a boy!”

After The Jump the biggest event will be the arrival of my godchild.” So, has Simon asked her to be godmother? She laughs.

“Everyone keeps asking me if I’m going to be godmother and I’m very polite and say, ‘Oh well, I haven’t been asked’, but then I remembered that Simon nominated himself – in fact, insisted he was godparent to both of my children – and so I’ve decided to claim the role. So, yes – I’m very much looking forward to meeting my godchild.”

Sinitta appears in ‘The Jump’ January 26th on Channel 4

Leave a Reply

